Reviews

 5/5

Relaxing to the Max at the Beach

We would recommend Mellow Yellow to anyone who wants to have a relaxing vacation at the beach. Swimming at 7:00 am in the warmest waters we ever experienced. Mirko, the property manager, was always available for any questions we had and provided us with valuable information about the area and which restaurants were best…and they were all good! Everything you’ll need is in walking distance. Small town charm with friendly, polite people…

Anonymous  |   May 12, 2019

  5/5

 5/5

The property is even more Wonderful than the Photos!

Our family had the vacation of a lifetime at Mellow Yellow! We had everything we needed, and Mirko even arranged for an air mattress for our son! The property is even more wonderful than the photos, and we loved being right in the village. The bikes were a great plus, and we had a blast riding to the Herbal Healers Tea House. Don’t miss Tina’s for breakfast! Thanks for everything!

Jennifee H.   |   December 21, 2018

  5/5

 5/5

Beautiful Comfortable House in Perfect Location

Beautiful, very comfortable house in perfect location. Smack in the middle of the village, on the beach, and within a block of a small grocery store and fruit stand. Other grocery stores, restaurants, and bars are in easy reach. The house has good common space, a well-equipped kitchen, shady balcony with hammocks, roof deck. We were there in late July but didn’t need to use the A/C because the house is designed to catch the full benefit of the ocean breeze. (We did end up moving the futon in the living room closer to the screened doors at night.)

Kris R.   |   July 31, 2018

  5/5

 5/5

The Mellow Yellow Property Is So Nice!

The four of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the quaint town of Hopkins. Wade our neighbor across the street is a wealth of information when it comes to local hangouts. Each night different restaurants share the crowds by offering different kinds of specials on food and drink. Logger Heads for supper is a must and one place has 9 holes of put- put along with great food and drink specials. Both of these are a must do. The short walk to the corner you will find Thong’s Cafe which offers a great breakfast. The Jaguar park has a good tube ride in the river for cooling off. The Mellow Yellow property is so nice you may want to just hang out and chill. Thanks again for sharing your outstanding home!!!

Don R.   |   June 11, 2018

  5/5

 5/5

Great Vacation Home

This house has a fantastic layout for two couples. It is spotless and has all the kitchen gadgets you could possibly need. Lots of places to hang out, both in sun and shade. The ocean breezes keep it cool night and day. Well situated in the center of the village so you are close to all of the fantastic restaurants. The local Garifuna food is amazing and shouldn’t be missed. Thanks for sharing your house with us!

Lara S.   |   April 20, 2018

  5/5

 5/5

Breathtaking Views

We just can’t rave enough about Mellow Yellow Beach House, from the attentive service from Mirko and his staff to the amenities and beauty of the house itself. When we decided at the last minute that we wanted to go deep sea fishing, Mirko made it happen! The beach is beautiful, the outdoor shower is an added bonus! Spending the evenings sitting on the front deck with the breeze blowing off the ocean soothes the soul, star gazing on the rooftop was amazing! The little grocery store right behind the house was an added convenience, the people are so friendly! We attended Easter Vigil at the local Catholic Church and the people were so welcoming! If you are planning a vacation in Belize, the Mellow Yellow House is definitely the place to stay, all the conveniences of home (and more!) and immersed in the Belizean culture!

Stacey B.   |   March 30, 2018

  5/5

 5/5

Gorgeous and Relaxing Beachfront Getaway

This was our first VRBO vacation experience and we were blown away with the quality of the home and friendliness of the people in Hopkins! We really appreciated all of the amenities provided in the beach house, from every appliance we could have needed to the amazing beach chairs and hammocks to relax and read or sleep in. We enjoyed the beautiful ocean views from the rooftop and balcony, as well as the gorgeous sand on the beach. We couldn’t believe how warm (~80F) and clear that the sea water was and how shallow it was right in front of Mellow Yellow. Excellent for swimming and wading. Just remember to bring your bug spray as quite a few sand flies (or no-see-ums) in the area. As mentioned in other reviews, there are many dogs that run free in the village, but we found them to be very friendly. All of our travel and tour arrangements were promptly and capably handled by the property manager, Mirko. All of the staff and drivers that we met were also very friendly and helpful. We went on tours to Cockscomb Jaguar Preserve where we hiked up to the waterfalls on Tiger Fern Trail (fairly strenuous), the Western Mayan Ruins (very impressive) as well as Mary Sharps Hot Sauce Factory. All were fun and interesting! There are many good local restaurants within walking distance. Some we tried include Geckos, Driftwood Pizza (Tuesday night drumming), Tina’s Kitchen, Ella’s Cool Spot, Innies, Thongs, Windschief (great music Fridays) and a great dining experience at Hamanasi Resort. Fish and seafood choices were always amazing as were the Belikin beer! We enjoyed the location within the village of Hopkins. Keep in mind that Belize is a developing country , but the simple, laid back lifestyle of the locals makes Mellow Yellow Beach House in Hopkins a fantastic vacation experience!

Sandra H.   |   November 28, 2017

  5/5

 5/5

Great Home, Small Village

The house is beautiful. it looks just like the pictures. We were very comfortable. Being on the beach was amazing, particularly for midnight swims. The town is small – mostly dirt roads. We felt very safe and people were very friendly. Belize is a developing country, particularly in a small town like Hopkins. We appreciated being able to disconnect from the busy tech connected world. The grocery stores were small 4 isle and had either canned goods or very fresh produce. Restaurants were several tables in front of a home kitchen. Dinner menu depended on what was available at the markets and produce stands. One of our favorite memories was watching a kid run in with a bag containing a blender from the local store in order to prepare our pina coladas. As alluded to in other reviews, Mirko is not only a property manager, but is very happy to arrange transfers and excursions. We were very pleased with all that he arranged. We loved being picked up on the beach outside of our house by a private boat for our snorkeling excursion. Hopkins is about 2 1/2 hours by car and 15 minutes by prop plane. We drove from the airport to Hopkins so that we could see the country and flew back to maximize time in the country. In summary, Mellow Yellow is an amazing house on the beach in a remote town. It is a great place to get away. We hope to go back!

Glen M.   |   August 3, 2017

  5/5

 5/5

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the Mellow Yellow Beach House

This beach house is absolutely amazing and so is the house manager Mirko! Myself and two girlfriends rented this house for week and our vacation was absolutely perfect. We all loved the village! The grocery store directly across the street was very convenient! But you won’t need to do a lot of grocery shopping because all of the restaurants in the village are outstanding! We took the golf cart down the road to “resortville” one day and decided that wasn’t for us! I would recommend to anyone to stay in the village! Lastly, I’ve rented from VRBO a couple times before and I have never experienced such an amazing house manager! Mirko was always available and helped us with EVERYTHING! Look no further … you have found the perfect home to rent in Hopkins, Belize!

Alyssa B.   |   April 26, 2017

  5/5

 5/5

Mellow Yellow Cabana Location is Fantastic

My friend and I stayed for a month at the Yellow Mellow Cabana. The location of the villa is great. Walking distance from a grocery store and restaurant. The property manager Mirko and his wife were of great help to organize excursion or for any questions we might have.

Jocelyne C.   |   April 10, 2017

  5/5

 5/5

Excellent!

This is a beautifully built, equipped and maintained property. It is perfectly situated to optimize the breezes which blow continuously and reduce the need for AC in the main area of the house. The manager responded to all our requests promptly. The cabanas beachfront and palapa are lovely. The water temperature is wonderful with varying degrees of roughness to the waves. It is well positioned in terms of grocery stores, vegetable stands, etc. It is really unfortunate that the entire waterfront in Hopkins is littered with plastics and garbage which come in from out at sea.

Rosemary B.   |   April 8, 2017

  5/5

 5/5

Enjoying the Breeze at Mellow Yellow Cabana

Mellow Yellow is actually nicer than the pictures on the internet. The best part was the constant breeze so there was no need for air conditioning. We spent many hours sitting on the main balcony looking at the ocean and listening to the waves. The cabana was well stocked and very clean. Mirko and Annett are very thorough in explaining how the house works and they made arrangements for our daughter`s Tropic Air flight from Belize City. I would recommend Mellow Yellow to my family and friends. Check out Rachel at the bakery near the church at 3:00 pm for bread, cinnamon buns, etc. We also enjoyed Loggerhead on Thursday evening for great hamburgers and reggae music; Driftwood for yummy pizza and drumming on Tuesday. We really liked the vibe of Hopkins and definitely would come back.

Mary Rose and Leo S.   |   January 7, 2017

  5/5

 5/5

A Dream House!

Mellow Yellow Cabana is located right on the beach with crystal blue water, in Hopkins small village. Across the street from the grocery store and the Thong Café which is very good, serve breakfast and lunch. The house is fully equip and perfect for two couples. Everything is very very clean and we feel like home. Mirko and Annett, the property manager are very helpful for everything you need, travelling, activities etc. Definitely the place to stay in Hopkins. The top balcony is very special for watching the stars…. Hopkins is a nice place to relax, doing snorkeling, fishing and walking on the beach. Lots of good restaurants to have dinner. It was our second time in Hopkins and planning to come back again.

Anonymous  |   November 17, 2016

  5/5

 5/5

North Carolina Lovin’ Mellow Yellow

The house was very clean, as well as all surrounding grounds. Caretaker even rakes entire beachside property all the way to the sea. Mirko is over the top with all aspects- timely communication from booking inquiry and throughout entire stay. His knowledge and scheduling of any excursion and hopper flights to and from one stop to another is handled flawlessly. Included bicycling thru the village & convenient availability of their golf cart, which is in great condition, allowed us to explore much more local area and enjoy the sites, lifestyle, and locals. I recommend Tuesday night pizza (WOW) and local music at Driftwood Beach Bar & Pizza Shack. Frog’s Point Restaurant is a culinary masterpiece, and Thongs Cafe a delicious breakfast stop. The St Herman’s Cave exploration, tubing, and Blue Hole swimming excursion was another of the highlights of our trip (our 2 teenage girls loved it as much as we did). Amenities within the home were top of the line with nearly everything included that most rentals come no where near matching. The view- every morning spending time awaiting the sunrise over the ocean horizon to climbing upstairs to the top (3rd story) deck to oversee even more, makes the Mellow Yellow as good as it can get- hard to leave. Kudos to all involved in this wonderful vacation, and “go for it” to anyone ready to vacation Belize.

Robert C.   |   July 13, 2016

  5/5

 5/5

Everything You Need or Could Want in Hopkins!

Great Location right in the middle of Hopkins. Really beautiful home with any amenity you could possibly need. Mirko, the manager, was very helpful and responsive to any needs. House is fully stocked and there is a grocery store 1/2 block away. Right on the beach with beautiful raked sand and great swimming. About a mile from “resort row” so you really feel like you are experiencing Hopkins all to yourself. We were a family of 5 that stayed in early July and would recommend it to anyone.

Wynn P.   |   June 30, 2016

  5/5

 5/5

Mellow Yellow Cabana was the Best in Hopkins

The Mellow Yellow Cabana is a wonderful beach front house in the middle of Hopkins. Near the local market, several local eateries, and in the amazing village of Hopkins, the Mellow Yellow Cabana is the best place to be to experience the village. The caretaker Mirko was EXTREMELY helpful in setting up adventures and providing transport when necessary. He was very kind, willing to provide suggesting, and was truly investing in making sure we had everything we needed. The house is absolutely gorgeous with all amenities needed for an amazing Belizean vacation. I would absolutely return to the Mellow Yellow Cabana again and again.

Karen   |   May 23, 2016

  5/5

 5/5

Mellow Yellow Beach House was the Best in Hopkins

The Mellow Yellow Beach House is a wonderful beach front house in the middle of Hopkins. Near the local market, several local eateries, and in the amazing village of Hopkins, the Mellow Yellow Beach House is the best place to be to experience the village. The caretaker Mirko was EXTREMELY helpful in setting up adventures and providing transport when necessary. He was very kind, willing to provide suggesting, and was truly investing in making sure we had everything we needed. The house is absolutely gorgeous with all amenities needed for an amazing Belizan vacation. I would absolutely return to the Mellow Yellow Beach House again and again!

Karen A.   |   April 26, 2016

  5/5

 5/5

Best of Both Worlds

Mellow Yellow Beach House is a gorgeous property in the middle of Hopkins. You are right in the heart of the village and all the local ambiance that entails, but at the same time you have your own top of the line retreat. The beach is great at the property, and the breeze at night keeps everything nice and cool. Mirko and Annette, the property managers, are on top of everything and are a wealth of information. A truly A+ vacation.

Lonnie D.   |   March 22, 2016

  5/5

 5/5

Best in Hopkins

This property was absolutely beautiful and I’m pretty sure the palace of the town. Everything was perfect and we could not have wanted for anything: the bedrooms and bathrooms were awesome, the kitchen had everything we needed to cook meals in-house, and the balcony was great for playing cards. While we were at first taken aback by the bars on the window, it made for amazing night-time breezes throughout the house and we felt perfectly safe leaving the house open as we slept.

Robin W.   |   March 1, 2016

  5/5

 5/5

Luxury in the Middle of Hopkins

We (2 couples) stayed at Mellow Yellow from February 21st to 28th. Everything about the experience was fabulous. The cabana was above expectations. From the two master suites to the well-appointed kitchen to the fabulous deck with 2 hammocks to the roof top deck to the access to the Caribbean, the cabana did not disappoint. Mirko and Annette, the property managers, met us on arrival. They had a fruit basket waiting for us, gave us the rundown of the place, provided a local cell phone in case we had any issues, and provided great suggestions for dinner and some excursions to consider. During the week we spent a day on the water fishing and snorkeling and we went cave tubing – both excursions organized by Mirko. We also explored Hopkins – both walking and on bikes provided as part of the cabana rental, traveled to Placencia and toured that town and we went hiking up Antelope Falls. Hopkins itself has much to offer – happy hour and pizza at the Driftwood is not to be missed. Dinner at Chef Rob’s is great value for the money as is breakfast at Thong’s. The grocery store was just across the street making it quite convenient to buy those supplies for meals, snacks and beverages that we consumed at the cabana. All in all a wonderful rental experience that I would recommend to anyone.

Henry O.   |   February 20, 2016

  5/5

 5/5

Holidaying at Mellow Yellow Beach House

Holidaying at Mellow Yellow Beach House. This House was spectacular. Loved the location ,Loved everything about it . I would go back in a heart beat and might book it for 2017 . The property managers were always helpful and polite. We were a party of 4 girls and we enjoyed the beautiful decks and beach and cooking in the delightful kitchen.

Laurel R.   |   February 10, 2016

  5/5

 5/5

A Gem of a place to stay in Hopkins

Awesome place to stay. Sleepy town of Hopkins is just steps out the door. Beautiful beach front. Everything you will need to have a wonderful vacation. This was our 3rd stop on a 2 week vacation and loved it. Be sure to eat at Frog Point and make sure you see the sunrise from the rooftop of this VRBO home.

Denise M.   |   January 11, 2016

  5/5

 4/5

Beautiful House in a Great Town!

I stayed in this house (as part of two couples) in January 2016. The house is amazing with every amenity possible. It has 2 large master suites with awesomely large showers. The kitchen was stocked with everything you could possibly need. It even had Tupperware to store our chopped up fresh fruit that we bought at a local fruit stand to make slushy, fruity rum drinks in the supplied blender! The huge beachfront balcony offered great views and ocean breezes. When the breeze wasn’t blowing the ceiling fans (in every room & on the balcony) made up the difference. We never once used the A/C. Mirko (the property manager) set us up with an incredible snorkeling trip (our captain and guide Lincoln was great), pointed us in the direction of river kayaking & rented us ocean kayaks during our stay. Renting from these guys is a true one stop shop. The only thing I could say that could you some improvement was the lack of palm trees on the property. There wasn’t much shade on the actual beach as there is in most of Hopkins. But this is obviously nitpicking. The next time I’m in Hopkins, Mirko will be our first call when looking for a great place to stay.

Suzanne S.   |   January 3, 2016

  4/5

 5/5

A Great Location and a Terrific Cabana!!!

Our family decided on Belize for a two week vacation and we booked our first week at Hopkins planning to visit a different part of Belize for the second week. Once we arrived at Mellow Yellow Cabana our plans quickly changed and we booked the second week there too. The cabana is terrific, well laid out and well equipped. We alternated between eating out and cooking in and had everything we needed in the kitchen and a grocery right across the street. It has a beautiful beach in front (although while we were visiting there was an unusually large amount of seaweed in Hopkins and you had to wade through that), and the deck overlooking that was the favourite hangout (especially the hammocks!). Hopkins is very charming and the people there are very friendly and happy. Mirko and Annette did a terrific job of arranging excursions (cave tubing, snorkelling, fishing, horseback riding, Mayan ruins) and all the people we met were very pleasant and enjoyed telling us about their country. Being August it was hot (but then it was pretty hot in Vancouver when we left too), but the air conditioning in the bedrooms was great, and there was usually a nice breeze blowing through the living area. We will definitely be going back to Hopkins and will definitely choose Mellow Yellow to stay at!

Doug   |   August 15, 2015

  5/5

 5/5

Amazing stay at Mellow Yellow Cabana

My husband and I had a fantastic stay at this lovely cabana. It was our first trip to Belize. The cabana was our home away from home for a week. We didn’t want to rent a car so the location was perfect. It’s right in the village, on the beach and steps away from grocery stores a variety of great restaurants. The cabana was clean, had comfortable beds and furniture and a large flat screen tv. The kitchen featured everything you’d need including a large refrigerator, stove, oven and dishwasher. There is a washer/dryer in one of the bathrooms too. The breeze from the sea could be felt inside – what a treat! Outside you could sit beachside to watch the sunrise or relax in the two hammocks. There’s also a rooftop deck if you want to take in some serious sun or a panoramic view. There are bicycles available to explore the area. Mirko, the property manager, took care of all our needs including arranging our flight from the international airport to Dangriga, transfer to the cabana, arrangements for excursions and recommendations on where to eat. This was the most relaxing holiday we’ve had. The people of Hopkins are very welcoming and friendly. We hope to return soon!

Shari B.   |   July 7, 2015

  5/5

 5/5

Best Vacation EVER

What a beautiful location! The house was absolutely perfect. Every possible amenity (down to the nutribullet!!) The view was amazing and the house was only yards to the beach. Beds were comfortable, bathrooms beautiful and modern (hot water is a little tricky) and the property managers Mirko and Annett were amazing. We actually spent less time in the house than we had planned because there were so many wonderful sights to see. We went zipling at night (AMAZING), cave tubing (equally AMAZING), visited Mayan ruins (equally AMAZING) and ended the trip with a day of snorkeling that was above and beyond expectations. The grocery store was less than a minute away which was awesome. We tried all of the recommended restaurants and they were all wonderful. Loved the ambiance (some had live music and drumming and some were literally on the surf). We would recommend renting a golf cart from Meg for a few hours to check the village out from one end to the other. Look closely because everything is very understated. Real gems can be missed if you aren’t paying attention. Every single person we met was so friendly and welcoming. We are just trying to figure out when we can come back!

Jay J.   |   March 6, 2015

  5/5

info@mellowyellowbeachhouse.com
Phone: 501-669-2660
Address: Hopkins, Stann Creek District, Belize